Call for abstracts

The thirteenth edition of the Oficina de Filosofia Analítica (OFA) will take place in Lisbon, on November 10, 2023, at FCSH – NOVA University Lisbon, and will be hosted by IFILNOVA’s ArgLab – Laboratory of Argumentation, Cognition and Language.

OFA is a graduate workshop in analytic philosophy (broadly construed), aimed at providing a stimulating environment for graduate students and young researchers (i.e., having obtained their PhD in the last 3 years) in the Portuguese philosophical community (i.e., either Portuguese or based in Portugal). The workshop is an initiative of the Portuguese Society for Analytic Philosophy (SPFA), also supported by the Portuguese Society of Philosophy (SPF), with its first edition taking place in 2006.

We invite submissions from all graduate students and young researchers who fulfill the criteria listed above. The working languages of the workshop are Portuguese and English. We invite submissions in the various areas of analytic philosophy including, but not limited to:

  • Critical Philosophy of Race
  • Epistemology
  • Ethics
  • Feminist Philosophy
  • Logic and Philosophy of Mathematics
  • Metaphysics
  • Philosophy of Language
  • Philosophy of Mind

We particularly encourage submissions by philosophers from groups currently underrepresented in the discipline.

Abstracts should have no more than 1000 words (excluding references), be prepared for blind review and in PDF format. Submit them to by June 30, 2023, with the subject “Submission OFA 13”. Information about the author should be in the body of the e-mail and include: author’s name, e-mail address, and institutional affiliation. Notifications of acceptance will be sent by e-mail by September 11, 2023.

If you have any questions, feel free to e-mail

We look forward to receiving your submissions!

Organizing Committee: Camila Lobo (UNL/ArgLab), João C. Miranda (UL/LanCog), Allie Richards (UL/CFCUL), João Faria e Silva (UP/MLAG).

Scientific Committee: Pedro Abreu (UNL/ArgLab), Adriana Silva Graça (UL), Bruno Jacinto (UL/CFCUL), Sofia Miguens (UP/MLAG), Ricardo Santos (UL/LanCog), Célia Teixeira (UFRJ/LanCog), Manuela Teles (UP/MLAG), Nuno Venturinha (UNL/ArgLab).